Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is argued that people recycle, but there is insufficient waste from homes that are reused. Therefore, a stringent law should be enforced to make it necessary for the masses. I thoroughly agree with it as individuals will not be living in use and throw society. Besides, they will contribute to escalating carbon emissions. First, if individuals make it indispensable to reuse the rubbish from their homes, the public will take it seriously. They will not use and throw things. To elaborate, people generally get influenced by others’ lifestyles. They buy unnecessary items, even at the cost of being heavy. However, after using it for a while, they get fed up and discard the things. Thus, they do a lot of waste of natural resources. For instance, furniture and TV screens. To make chairs and tables, a lot of wood is used, and many trees have been cut down. Consequently, human behaviour of purchasing stylish furniture and discarding old one damage the environment. Apart from it, carbon emissions also escalate when people recycle recyclable items but not all. The material which they do not reuse is plastic bottles, polythene, and, to name but a few. They burn or dispose of these things at landfill sites, where they do not decay. Thus, these non-biodegradable substances release toxic gases, which have carcinogenic effects on our biodiversity. An imbalance in nature can be seen, which makes this planet inhospitable for humanity. If it is a must for human beings to recycle all rubbish in their homes, people will use eco-friendly products and avoid using renewable resources. To conclude, it is clear that encouraging individuals to recycle waste from home is a proactive approach by the government. Masses will not live in a society which misuses natural resources under the influence of glamour, and a toxic environment, which people create by burning plastics, can be controlled.