Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, technology is one of the parts of our life whether adults, elders, and children. Some teenagers use their entire day on mobile phones to surf social media, play games, etc… In this essay, I will explain why this trend might be a negative development for them. There are several reasons why screen time has increased for many children in recent years. Firstly, smartphones are portable devices and convenient. This easy to allows children to do lots of things, such as playing games, watching cartoons, etc… gradually these entertainments become extremely addictive and children are glued to the screen for hours a day. Secondly, this phenomenon was also caused by a lack of parental attention. Parents nowadays are too occupied to play with their children patiently. Instead of spending time, they gave them smartphones to watch youtube or tiktokvideo… In my opinion, the development described above can have several detrimental impacts on children. One of the bad behaviors that appear in youngsters’ life is smartphone addiction. This affects students’ academic performance. For example, children often put off homework for hours on video games. In addition, excessive screen time can damage their eyes. Such as using long-term devices, teenagers can suffer from eye strain or dry eyes, or probably popular is short-sighted. In conclusion, families play an important role in managing and educating their kids. Should be aware of the negativity on the internet and social media. They have to put roles and monitor what kids watch and limit the time your child spends on these devices.