in the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

No one can deny that until the invention of IT devices, such as laptops and smartphones, the majority of workers had to commute for long hours. However, nowadays being a remote worker has been becoming more and more common in many societies. This essay will examine its positive sides and negative sides together. On the one hand, over the centuries, people had two different living spaces dividing the day into two equal parts. Thanks to rapidly developing technology, some people who have an opportunity to do their job at home are eligible to do it. For instance, graphic designers or software developer can do their tasks without going to the workplace and also attend a meeting remotely by using some applications, such as Zoom. Hence, time passing on the road, most being waste of time, vanishes so employees allocate their extra time for relaxing. In addition, employees living in megacities can get rid of stress resulting from traffic congestion or insufficient public transportation ways. On the other hand, not being in a workplace can deprive remote workers of enough socializing and extra knowledge gained from co- workers. Firstly, time spent in the workplace is beneficial in terms of being sociable. To illustrate, drinking a cup of coffee at intervals with co- workers and talking about a sports event may alleviate and help get rid of business pressure. Moreover, in today's world, workers should not cease improving themselves not to being unemployed so sharing information and getting useful bits of advice may be useful to keep up with the jobs’ requirements. To sum up, while it is clear that working from home brings obvious benefits to the workers, it is also true to say it may bring disadvantages as well. If a selection changes the methods of work provided to employers, efficiency will increase.