It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to?

It is very crucial for children to have the ability to differentiate between right and wrong at an adolescent age. There is an opinion that offspring can learn this distinction if they are punished for choosing the wrong path but, I totally disagree with this opinion. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss why punishment is not necessary to help them learn the difference between what is good and bad. Further, I will discuss as if necessary what kind of punishment should parents or teachers be permitted to use to make their children understand. Firstly, as per research, 4- 15 years is an age where an individual starts developing an interest in any activity and if a child is punished for doing a wrong activity then he will be afraid of doing things because,at this stage of life, he is unaware what is exactly right. Because of this, he will be restricted to only those activities, which his mentors will ask him to do and eventually, a toddler will start avoiding trying new stuff and will lack behind. Secondly, at this stage, if parents teach their children by explaining the consequences of good and bad activity by giving examples then a minor can better grasp that doing bad things might have a bad impact on his life. For instance, instead of punishing, elders can tell stories to their kids because through stories toddlers can relate more. Punishing a juvenile can make him stubborn and he will start repeating the same mistakes. However, if there is a need to punish toddlers for their mistakes, I believe that in this case also, elders or mentors should avoid physical assault, rather, they should give them small punishments. For example, if a kid commits any mistake then tell him that he will not get chocolate or candy now or you will not play with him. Like this, your purpose will also be solved and he will also learn to differentiate. In the end, I would like to conclude that it is necessary to make your kids learn to differentiate between good and bad but the right way of doing so is not punishment rather you should make them learn by explaining the consequences and impact of good and bad things.