Nowadays older people often live in retirement homes with people of their own age instead of living with their children. Is it a positive or negative development?

In the present day and age, the elderly society tends to spend their lives in retirement homes instead of relocating with their families. In my perspective, the aforementioned notion is indeed a positive development for reasons as shall be elaborated presently. To begin with, living at a retirement home plays a significant role in elderly people ’s lives. First of all, they provide the elderly services such as medical checkups on a regular basis. Since the high cost of living in this hustle-bustle span, most families tend to spend long hours at work in order to meet basic requirements for living; thus, assisted living facilities are the only alternative left for aged people who provide medical and living assistance when needed. Furthermore, owing to having retirement centres, senior citizens may not feel lonely. In other words, nowadays many individuals are reporting grave concerns about mental issues due to not having enough people around which is a commonly witnessed phenomenon; therefore, retirement houses provide more socialising opportunities for the old. Different daytime activities are organised for people of the same age, which reduces the feeling of loneliness and anxiety among people. In the view of arguments outlined above one can conclude that moving to centres to retire offers a valuable lifestyle for elderly people. Those include medical facilities as well as social life of the same age, which improve their mental well-being.