Nowadays, families are not as close as they used to be. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to make families closer?

In recent decades, there has been a drastic change in relationships among family members. Nowadays, people do not spend as much time with their family as they used to spend earlier. There are several factors for this trend. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why families are not as close as they used to be by giving examples from Oxford University and The Times Magazine. Also, I will talk about the changes that can be made to make families closer. To commence with, life has become very fast, and in order to survive, one has to keep pace with it. Unfortunately, this has caused a rift among family members. Firstly, the world has become very competitive. As children grow up, they look for other cities for their studies and employment. Consequently, parents can talk to their children only on calls or video and that too for a very short time. Neither parents get to know what all things are going on in their children's lives, nor do children bother to tell them. Secondly, no one has enough leisure time they can sit together with their family and have dinner. Everyone is busy earning money to improve their lifestyle. Lastly, now everything is available online. However, there is a large section of society that still maintain a good relationship with their family. Parents can ask their children to keep their mobile phones away at the dinner table. Moreover, elders can try to act as friends with young members. Individuals can take up some activities that the whole family can enjoy. A paper published by California University states that folk who spend more time with family are happier than others. Furthermore, the government can provide discounts on trips which involve more than five family members. To conclude, although every individual has a demanding schedule, they should take some time to spend with their families. It is important that the community should have good relations with their families because a small conversation with them can help to reduce stress and boost mood.