Social media is having a negative impact on people's lives nowadays. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Support your answer with reasons and examples.

In this contemporary era, an increasing number of people are spending most of their time on the internet using social media. In my opinion, this led to a myriad of concerns and also had a severe impact on society members. Firstly, the excessive usage of social media has isolated people in society. They do not have time to interact with family and friends and spend a good time together because they are too involved in stalking people online. Consequently, people have lost their family interaction time, which has further led to many disputes in the relationship. Moreover, when people socialise a lot online they develop lethargic attitudes and start preferring a sedentary lifestyle. As a result, they devote more time sitting on their phones using social media and do not do any physical exercise at all. Therefore, they gain weight and other health-related issues which plays a great role in deteriorating their health. For instance, my nephew spends the whole day watching TikTok videos and does not play physical sports, which made him obese and has also impacted his eyesight. Secondly, many people have been impacted by the numerous fraudulent activities on social media these days, especially, youngsters. As platforms like Facebook and Instagram are getting increasingly busy these days, this made scammers aim at these internet users. They try and take control of social media users' accounts and extract valuable information. This has impacted many individuals either financially or mentally. For example, my friend's Instagram account was hacked last year and the hacker posted inappropriate posts on his wall, which made my friend feel depressed and embarrassed. In conclusion, social media leads to many limitations which have made people reckless toward the people around them, particularly family members. Besides, it has also made people unfit and less social. Social media is made for mankind to use, but it should be used within limits.