It is argued that the parents of children who break the rules should be punished in some ways as parents are responsible for the children’s actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the crime rate among teenagers is increasing and people tend to blame this problem on parents. In my opinion, disciplining only parents for their child's misbehavior is not very right because everyone must be responsible for their own actions, including children. On the one hand, parents are partly responsible for their children ’s mistakes. This is because family should be the first school of each person that nurtures and educates personality. In other words,/ This means that it is the responsibility of parents to teach their children that they must obey the law, behave properly, and respect others around them. As a result, when children, especially adolescent children, make mistakes or break the law affecting others’ property, their family must compensate for all damages. For example, this is clearly stated in the Law on Marriage and Family of Vietnam. On the other hand, children have to be held accountable/responsible for their wrongdoings. The main reason for this is each individual must get the blame for their own words and actions. In other words, children, especially those who are in their adolescent years, have their own thoughts and opinions about what happens around them. Therefore, if their actions violate the law, it is them that must take responsibility instead of blaming their family. Moreover, children can be affected by other factors such as friends or the surrounding environment, which is beyond the control of the parents. Thus, this may not be the parents’ fault. In conclusion, families should have partial responsibility for the wrong actions of their children, but youngsters have to be accountable for their misconduct.