These days, an increasing number of people in many cities know little about their neighbors and do not have a sense of community. What do you think are the causes and what solutions can you suggest?

Different from the past when dwellers in the neighbourhood usually chatted with each other and help each other as often, there has been a growing trend that the importance of relationships between neighbours is weaker. In my opinion, the demands of interacting with them are less being an essential factor. Firstly, when we asked why they do not socialize with inhabitants who are closest to them, many people would respond by saying “Why should I? I have many other interesting things to do!” indeed, modern technology such as TVs, mobile phones and the Internet shape a perfect virtual world for most people, they spend way too much spare time for social media or some software for entertainment, which indulges themselves in it. Without the limitation of distance, residents are more willing to contact their friends and family through electronic screens rather than neighbours. On the other hand, lacking trust can account for it. Now many news reports too many crimes in cities like theft, robbery and murder, which greatly reduce trust in people. They may think that nobody is trustworthy, much less to say their neighbours. But we all know that sometimes help from others is useful. No matter how convenient using phones to solve problems, good relationships with residents can nip in the bud. So as part of the solution to the problem, I would suggest communities can organize more interesting activities which can attract residents. At the same time, all media should be fully aware of their share of responsibility for this problem, and try to bring more positive stories about city life. In conclusion, our modern lives took us apart from our communities. Thus, local authorities must do something to change this. Some solutions are voluntary work and more social events so citizens could interact and meet new friends.