In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphisise that their products are new in some way.

Nowadays, the business world is highly competitive and all companies create strategies to attract more consumers through advertisements that highlight new features of their products. However, there are some disadvantages to this trend, I personally feel that the advantages are far more noticeable. To begin, some corporations develop new characteristics to their products that do not necessarily mean that it is good for the buyers. For example; the manufacturing of candies and processed food uses more and more sugar and put different flavours and artificial adding which are not good for human health but they are promoted to consume them. Besides, the publicity of a variety of goods encourages consumerism and spending more money on unnecessary things. On the other hand, in a competitive market innovation is a common strategy implemented by companies in order to create a competitive advantage in the advertisement. As a consequence, a huge range of desired goods and services are available in the market after an advertisement campaign. For instance; mobile phone companies updated their phone features to make them smart so people not only get the possibility of communicating easily but also can be used for multiple activities. As a result, now people can take photos or order food just to mention some. To sum up, it seems to me that the minus points are outweighed by the plus points because even when firms are motivating purchasers to spend more money adding new features or making upgrades on the products might mean an advantage for the income of a company and also it is could become a disadvantage for the user.