Violence in playgrounds is increasing. However, it is important that parents should teach children not to hit back at bullies.

In today's society, violence among children seems to be increasing and with it comes the issue of bullying and teasing in playgrounds. This essay will discuss whether or not parents should be teaching their children to use violence as a defence mechanism and what are the outcomes of the two scenarios. Firstly, many people believe that violence is only ever dealt with violence, therefore, parents tend to teach their kids defence mechanisms that are based on violent actions, such as hitting back when hit or talked badly to. However, there is evidence found in research that points out that violence creates more violence, meaning that the violent behaviour put into a child's mind, even if just to protect them, grows into more violence allowing them to use it more often. Take the series Cobra Kai, for example, where the character Kenny, who suffered bullying from his peers for months goes into karate training, learning a variety of violent moves, later he uses those moves to sand up to his bullies, hurting them, however, using violence becomes Kenny's strength allowing him to become the bully, now always hurting the people who used to hurt him. Another way to carry out problems such as bullying, which I might consider the better way, is through the non-violent approach. Looking at this issue in the long term, cases where parents support and teach their children anti-violent ways to deal with their emotions and frustrations, parents support and teach their children anti-violent ways to deal with their emotions and frustrations are more likely to be successful and stop the bullies and violent acts from others. As mentioned earlier, violence creates more violence, therefore, a non-violent encouraged upbringing will most likely raise children to discover other ways to solve conflict when encountered, as well as allow them to grow into adults who will act rationally when put into difficult situations. In conclusion, despite there being times when violence to defend oneself can be justified, non-harmful strategies outweigh any benefit they can bring, since it also has the negative side of constructing more violence. In my opinion parents who teach their kids a way to a life without violent acts are the ones whose way will have the most significant effect.