In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is often thought that in some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. However, some might think that telling kids they can achieve anything will sound a bit delusional and they will eventually get upset when they have to face reality. This essay will list the benefits and drawbacks of such a statement. To begin with, it is still debateable whether providing young individuals with hope is a good choice after all. Kids should be given motivation since they are young so they can find their interests quickly. By being quicker, it can also mean that they are saving their time. With time saved, they can improve their skills and look out for more potential in life. Furthermore, by actually telling them the importance of hard work, they will also get to learn how to achieve things on their own. For instance, it is apparent that hard-working people tend to be more independent and less reliant on their relatives than those who are not. On the other hand, some people believe that telling them that they can achieve anything is not the right way to teach children. Young individuals tend to believe things easily, and when they don’t get what they actually hoped for, they will get upset easily too. Hence, kids should be told that at any moment in life, they will eventually grow up, and sometimes they will have to face the reality that not everything they worked hard for actually paid off. In conclusion, telling individuals that they are able to achieve anything as long as they try hard enough has their own advantages and disadvantages. Hence, telling children such a statement should also be accompanied by telling them how to achieve it and hard work is one of many ways to achieve their dreams. Moreover, people should prepare their young ones for any possibility that will chase after them in this life.