In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Products are commonly exaggerated by advertisements that they are new in some way. The main reason for this is to be outstanding in the vast market. However, I believe this is a negative trend since some of these advertisements are not objective, which possibly misleads people’s opinions on the product. The main goal of most businessmen in using these strategies is to stand out from the crowd. In modern society, the business market is highly competitive. All companies have to stay updated by having refreshed techniques, such as adding the latest technology and creating new designs. For instance, a new water bottle is designed in a flat shape, which is announced that it is easier to carry in a bag than previously designed round cylinder shape bottles. As a result, it demonstrates a sense of advancement, meaning that this product is superior to others with old designs. To emphasise an innovative technique used is able to raise public awareness and curiosity about the product because it is somehow new. This potentially attracts more clients to consider buying it. Yet, I think this is a negative trend because certain emphasised advertisements are single viewed. Companies usually focus on the advantages of their products only but hide their weaknesses. This easily misleads customers’ perspectives on the products, and they might be blinded to the limitations of the products. Causing them to purchase goods falsely that are not really necessary. In conclusion, overstated advertisements can enhance the competitiveness of the products, this might not be a positive development in the business market.