A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. what are the advantages and disadvantaged of tourism in the modern world?

Nowadays, many countries around the world depend on tourism as the prime income source. However, this reliance can be problematic if it is not managed efficiently by the government. In my view, despite the issues arising from mismanagement, the tourism industry provides more benefits. To commence with, the travel industry has numerous merits. When international travellers visit a country, it creates many job opportunities. For example, in order to provide facilities such as accommodation, restaurants, local cuisine, tour guides, and other services, new employers and job opportunities must be established. Moreover, a well-developed tourism industry attracts both tourists and investors, which can significantly contribute to the economic growth of a region. As a result, the leisure industry can be identified as one of the main financial sources of a country. On the other hand, tourism has its own drawbacks. As the number of visitors to a particular destination increases, the local environment can suffer. For instance, Thailand receives a high amount of travellers annually, leading to the construction of several hotels and restaurants. This expansion greatly reduces the surrounding natural environment. Furthermore, an increased number of visitors can be considered the main cause of environmental pollution in such areas. It has been observed that as the number of tourists increases, the amount of garbage produced also increases. This is a financial and logistical burden for local communities when it comes to waste management and recycling. In conclusion, even though the tourism sector has its own negative factors, with efficient management by the authorities, it can be developed as one of the vital revenue generation methods in a state.