In some countries, young people often decide to work or travel for a time before they start their university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of doing this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's contemporary era, many people worldwide prefer to work or travel before starting their higher education. This leads to both merits and demerits which will be discussed in paragraphs below. Firstly, when youngsters work before starting university they get practical exposure to the job market. It helps them to gain relevant experience and also learn from mistakes, which makes them responsible and wise. As a result, they gain an upper edge in the competitive employment market which helps them secure jobs with high salaries. Moreover, some people prefer to travel for some time before starting a university education. It assists them to learn about many tourist spots and their related history as well, which enhances their knowledge. Besides, some travel to feel fresh and rejuvenated which prepares them for future journeys in their life. For instance, I worked at Coles for a year before starting my postgraduate education, which taught me how to be independent and spend money wisely. There are, however, some disadvantages of working before starting university too. The primary one is that many young workers start working an excessive number of hours which impacts their time management skills. Consequently, they are not left with enough time to establish good relationships with families; hence, losing their social life. Furthermore, the greed for money becomes soo bad that university studies become less attractive, thus they keep working those odd jobs rather than focusing on a proper career. For example, my cousin started working as a retail worker in year 12, and it has been 5 years since he passes out of school, he never went to uni because of his lethargic attitude. In conclusion, although there are some demerits of allocating some time to work and travel before going to university, the benefits are indeed too great to ignore. With the growing population, it is very important these days to have the skilled experience to secure sophisticated employment.