Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day in age, there has been an increase in the number of young, freshly out of school, individuals who are taking a year off studying to travel or work all around the world. It is a belief of some that 12 months away from academic work can be significantly beneficial for students when they come back, and I believe that is true. This essay will discuss a few reasons why students take one year off studies as well as it will bring clarity to my point of view. Firstly, the main reason to take an academic break is to travel, this offers the individuals a different perspective on life, allowing them an opportunity to live in different cultures and meet people who are nothing like them. Although education plays a large role in what people become as they progress in life, travelling gives something no other experience can ever give, the beauty of getting out of our comfort zones. Alternatively, other people choose these 12 months to experience a life of work. For example, working at a local petrol station or serving people in hospitality, to earn money and pay for studies later. Both reasons come from the same idea. They take time to reflect on what truly matters in their lives and studying and paying expensive money is what is wanted. Nevertheless, as some people believe that this year off is the best way to get out of our comfort zones, others might argue that taking a sabbatical year causes a few setbacks in academic life, as much as taking time off allows individuals to reflect on their lives and what they want, it also can make returning to studies much more difficult, regaining the discipline once had can be a challenge not everyone is willing to face. However, I am of the opinion that regardless of the setbacks and challenges students face after, will never outweigh the positive experiences travelling or working for a whole year brings to their future and present selves. I think although not a necessity, if there is an opportunity to live such an adventure, it is worth all the future difficulties. In conclusion, even though there are some disadvantages to an educational break between school and further studies, the advantages it can have on a person's life are greater and what I believe shapes people into whom they want to be.