It has often been suggested that the reintroduction of capital punishment would deter the ever increasing rate of serious crime. What is your view? Do you think that capital punishment should be reinstated?

It is a fact that the world is witnessing a tremendous increase in the number of serious criminal activities. At this point, it is often recommended that the death penalty be reintroduced, to which I have a mixed response. On the one side of the argument, if capital punishment is reinstated, the expected result is a substantial fall in the number of heinous crimes committed. To be more explicit, the last few decades have witnessed increased crimes, including extortion, rape and murder. Critics point out that this is mainly because of lax punishments. They argue if such criminals are awarded the death sentence, it will be a deterrent factor, and naturally, there will be a decline in the frequency of such criminal activities. I feel this is true to an extent. On the other hand, the reintroduction of this extreme punishment is questioned for its brutal nature. To be more apparent, many criminals who have committed crimes might be forced by some exceptional situations or without any serious intentions. For example, in some circumstances, people commit murders for survival, while some are forced to do so by external factions. In such cases, the judiciary has to be careful in awarding a death sentence. Instead, these people can be reeducated and reintroduced into society as productive citizens. There is some truth in this also. To conclude, there is no doubt that the reintroduction of capital punishment is an unjustifiable move considering humanity. However, habitual criminals who threaten society can be executed by law.