Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

it is believed that international events such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup play a vital role in maintaining world peace and show nationalism in a proper way. To a certain point, I would agree with the statement but some fights among the audience have been reported in past venues. On the one hand, it is true that events such as the World Football Cup or the Commonwealth Games can be used as a tool to maintain globle peace and to display patriotism in a secure way. It can be seen that during international tournaments, athletes from various nations are competing against each other. Although their countries of origin might be at war or in conflict, they shake hands and greet each other. And during these moments, the sports people can show their nationalism by giving their best effort in the games, since they are the representative of their own countries. On the other hand, although the tournaments positively affect world peace, sometimes the athletes and the supporters get carried away with their emotions. In certain cases, several athletes had fought against each other because they could not manage their temperament, and the situation had triggered the supporters to fight against each other as well. As a result, it caused some tensions between countries as well. Therefore, many experts have suggested that athletes should be given a proper explanation about controlling their emotions during the games because it could give negative effects on the audience and the relationship among nations. In conclusion, it is undeniable that international sports & games such as the European Football Cup or SEA Games are effective tools in easing tensions among nations, and showing patriotism in the right way. I personally agree with the statement, but I think it is also important for the athletes to be trained about controlling their emotions.