Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that these days experience is the priority to get a well-paid job position, but at the same time, we can not underestimate the importance of awareness. At the outset, the workers need qualifications and awareness of skills such as literacy and numeracy, as well as expertise of modern technological systems. There is a number of professions where knowledge plays a crucial role. For instance, engineers, teachers, psychologists or doctors need both know-how and ability to be successful in their careers. Obviously, while certain types of expertise can be enquired during work experience, it is essential to get a standard education beforehand, especially for such serious professions as medical workers or engineers. On the other hand, as today’s world is effectively controlled by machines and all vital and crucial data is being stored on digital resources, it gives great opportunities to people to develop their skills in manipulating it. As we can see awareness plays a secondary role in skills and practice. In addition, our modern world demands that companies and institutions have employees with very sophisticated abilities not just in technology but in dealing with modern systems and be flexible to changes, as we are living in the era of very fast-moving technological progress. As a consequence, frequently workers’ technological expertise often takes precedence over their basic education. What’s more, companies and organizations can not flourish without hiring workers with the necessary understanding. In conclusion, despite knowledge still being very important in modern workplaces, it is clear that the advantages of a greater emphasis on job background outweigh any disadvantages.