Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

Recent decades have witnessed a staggering number of individuals supporting the argument of guiding prisoners to do community service while they are sentenced. Often enough, this scenario is mutually beneficial to society and prisoners. I completely agree with the idea, and in this essay, I will explain the reasons. First of all, the detainees could better understand the world before they are released from jail. In essence, certain prisoners who were detained for merely several years had not committed serious crimes. These people would re-enter society in a few years, or even in some months. In this manner, allowing them to do voluntary work could connect them to the real world. Meanwhile, the prisoners would enhance their confidence by making an invaluable contribution to their home country. Undoubtedly, confident prisoners have been deemed assets to society as a whole. In addition, it is much easier for the detainees to integrate into the community when they regain freedom. Indeed, ample research has demonstrated that acceptance from citizens in the country would foster the integration between freed humans and the world. Notwithstanding the fact that many individuals hold the belief that detainees are notorious for their behaviour, plenty of people in jail have made huge efforts to get rid of the past. For instance, some captive ones gained their bachelor's degrees while they were prisoned. In this sense, doing community work is offering an opportunity for both detainees and other individuals to understand and accept each other. To summarise, requiring people from jail to make contributions to the community helps to link them to the country. After all, these people who are capable to do unpaid work for their home would not put other inhabitants in jeopardy. On the contrary, it promotes a more harmonious environment for our offspring.