The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It has sparked a revival of the debate about whether people should have a single united government to rule over mankind or each nation should maintain their own local authorities. Although this notion may bring about some benefits in many aspects, I am of the opinion that having a unitary government could result in more significant downsides. On the one hand, there are various compelling myriad factors why some have voiced support for global government. Chief among these reasons is that it could improve economic stability and growth as all countries have dominance in currency. In other words, there would be lower transaction costs and the exchange rate uncertainty would be eliminated, with that said, residents could reduce a huge amount of financial payments such as taxes and expedite the dealings. Moreover, the state could allocate more money for living standards and essential facilities like upgrading the infrastructure or the transport system instead of splashing out on expensive weapons for the sake of defence. Another key consideration is that thanks to no visible borderlines, people would no longer have to apply for a visa, whereby, both citizens and goods could effortlessly transit from place to place. On the other hand, I would argue that one common political authority would have inferior insights into different regions’ trouble. First and foremost, having a single ruling government on Earth could limit the diversity of ideas and therefore trigger a lack of multi-dimensional view to mitigating whistle-blowing problems. What’s more, there would be a risk of bureaucrats exploiting the rules to serve their own interests and career, which would undoubtedly create pressing conflicts among residents. Apart from this, creating an overseeing government may not heal division since there are a host of differences in cultures, religions and ethnicities which a dominant ruler can ill afford to reconcile the multi-cultural divergences. In addition, due to fewer borders and restrictions, there would be more opportunities for nefarious deeds such as smuggling heroin or money and even children may commit crimes or drugs at a very young age. In conclusion, despite numerous undeniable advantages provided by a centralized government, I hold a belief that the existence of national authorities should not be overlooked. In conclusion, despite numerous undeniable advantages provided by a centralized government, I hold a belief that the existence of national authorities should not be overlooked.