In some countries , the government promote public transportation and discourage the private vehicles what are the advantage and disadvantages?

Nowadays, jurisdictions of some nations are encouraging the adoption of public transportation and discouraging citizens from using their own transport for commuting. In this essay, I will discuss the merits and demerits of this trend in subsequent paragraphs. There are two main advantages associated with this approach. One of them is controlling the traffic effectively; many cities have a plethora of people commuting over long distances. Encouraging them to utilize public transportation will significantly reduce traffic congestion and make transportation very fast. Another merit of this trend is improvement in air quality thereby reducing pollution. When private cars do not run on the streets, the emission of harmful gases will lower dramatically and would improve the quality of air. For instance, governments of many South Asian countries are improving public commute facilities and motivating their citizens to make use of them effectively. Though there are advantages associated with this trend, there are certain downsides to this approach. To begin with, discouraging the usage of private vehicles can drastically hamper the automobile industry. If people do not purchase private cars, automobile companies will suffer major losses. Another major drawback is that car manufacturing companies will hardly introduce any latest technology in their vehicles. As a result, people will end up using vehicles with poorly developed technologies. To cite an example, a few private car brands have stopped updating their vehicles due to a reduction in their sales. To conclude, governments of a few nations are emphasizing the use of public transportation over private commute options. Although this trend can help in managing traffic and reducing air pollution, it can severely impact the automobile industry and will lead to underdeveloped vehicles.