Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent decades have witnessed an ever-increasing number of individuals working and learning from home, especially after the appearance of the Coronavirus. While some people contend that it is a positive progression of the world development, others argue that working or studying from home can create a lot of problems. In my opinion, I tend to agree with the latter argument. First and foremost, face-to-face interaction is declining at a rapid rate in our times. Thanks to the technological advancement in the past 30 years, the global population are using computers and the Internet to communicate with their friends and colleagues. These individuals are inclined to spend countless hours on virtual interaction every day. As a result, numerous people complained that they found difficulties in talking to real humans. For example, my cousin who is an accountant has worked from home for approximately 2 years. He stated that he feels uncomfortable when he goes to supermarkets and has to talk to humans. Often enough, this work arrangement has put people's communication skills in jeopardy. In addition, it is challenging for citizens to distinguish between workplaces and their own homes. For instance, many workers wake up at 7 in the morning and start to perform immediately. A large number of them skip their meals and drinks. In this manner, their bosses also ignore the contractual working hours. As a result, countless employees are exploited by being asked to work more than the agreed hours without an adjusted remuneration package to compensate. Whereas their bosses are satisfied by obtaining extra labour hours for free, it is against human rights. To summarise, despite the fact that working from home and distance learning are very convenient, I personally oppose the arrangement as it could jeopardise human communication. Moreover, it can lead to an unfair compensation system by requiring employees to work more than what was agreed in their labour contracts. Thus, people should consider to limit the time for this work or study arrangement to combat the mentioned problems.