(PTV)Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important to a child's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, it is argued that for the development of children at their early stage it is crucial that the study of art subjects like painting, and drawing should be included in their curriculum alike other subjects in high schools. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement because it helps the students to choose better career paths in future and helps in fostering creativity. Firstly, why drawing and painting should be made mandatory in high schools is to provide them the exposure to various fields of study which can result in choosing a better path for their lives. The reason behind this is, that when student's learning is confined to selective subjects like maths,science and language they often fall into the category of engineering and medicine fields. Instead, if they are introduced to various streams beforehand, it will be easier for them to choose the option to pursue their dream jobs and career perspectives in advance. For example, research conducted in a famous newspaper showed that most of the students in European countries are showing their interest in fine arts due to the awareness they got in their schools regarding the job opportunities in the global level market. Hence, it should be encouraged to include these subjects in their academic schedules for the overall betterment of young minds. Secondly, this will open the window of creativity among the students. When young minds are involved in learning attractive subjects like these, it will not only benefit them in the prospect of their dream job but also foster the level of creative advancements to shine in any field that they choose. This is because, since it involves hand-eye coordination, focus and other fine motor skills which are required for their overall development improves cognitive ability. For instance, a recent article posted in The Hindu newspaper stated that children who participated in national drawing competitions showed their creativity through colours which represented emotions and struggles the environment faces today with intricate nuances. Since, creativity is already instilled in children, paving the path to learning more about this would definitely help them to showcase in their future career journey. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly agree that incorporating art syllabi in schools provides various opportunities to explore their job perspectives rather than focusing on the prevalent jobs and also it helps them incorporate the creativity level in whichever field they choose to thrive.