University students are increasingly studying abroad as a part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays studying abroad is an extremely common phenomenon among students as a part of their studies. Although studying abroad opens up enormous opportunities for advanced education and significant life experience, this might cost them more than usual compared to their native country also it can cause linguistic and cultural difficulties in their daily life. In my opinion, despite facing challenges receiving a degree from a foreign country is worth enough for future endeavors. Studying abroad gives chance students to come out of their comfort zone and gain life experience for their careers. This also allows them to develop their people skills which might not be as simple as in their homeland. Firstly, moving to a different country for study purposes opens up mainly cultural and linguistic challenges which are different from the usual experience they have. Adjusting to a new country takes a good amount of time. For instance, migrating to a new place impacts the whole living pattern of a person’s life and in most cases, students are far away from their families so it impacts their lives both physically and emotionally. So to say, migrating to a new environment includes significant experiences that will lead them to blend in with people from different backgrounds in their careers. Moving to a foreign country for higher education can cost higher as the currencies are different. It is highly competitive to get a scholarship in a whole new country and it is quite difficult to afford for many students. Also, it takes much more living expenses than usual. As students might take a good amount of time to blend in with the culture, sometimes it can be depressing enough to hamper their studies. For example, one of my friends migrated to Germany for his Ph.D. It took him almost a year to learn their language properly as a result there were times when he made a fool of himself while expressing himself to the Germans. Also, he had to work two jobs to afford his tuition and living expense. To conclude, the rate of students studying abroad has increased over the years nevertheless it comes with a bunch of unusual difficulties which ultimately lead them to a brighter future and a successful career. In this way, the advantages of studying abroad outperform the disadvantages.