In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a belief that people will leave physical newspapers or books and replace them with their online versions because readers can get them for free in the upcoming years. I oppose this statement and will state my reasons in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, paper-based newspapers and books will not entirely vanish because there are some groups of people that still need them. Some people might have eye problems that require them to minimize their screen time because consistent exposure to light from computers or other electronic devices can worsen the condition. To cite an example, people with poor eyesight are recommended to reduce the usage of gadgets in order to maintain the health of their eyes. Hence, people with such a condition will still opt for printed resources. Secondly, there are some people who personally prefer the idea of reading newspapers and books in physical form. This is usually because they enjoy the experience of reading those materials on paper, either because they can highlight important points with a pen or highlighter or because they simply adore the smell of paper. For instance, in Indonesia, there are several book clubs that dedicate their activity to reading printed books. They strongly believe that the feeling of touching papers cannot be replaced with virtual books. In conclusion, the rising presence of online newspapers and books will not dramatically change people's reading habits. There will still be a certain population that will choose printed newspapers and books over internet-based resources due to their medical condition and personal preference.