Some parents believe that learning mathematics is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used in later life. Discuss both sides.

In the salad days of the millennium, a variety of new courses are being taught. Whereas, among all the only course which still creates a problem for students is maths. However, society is polarized into two groups almost equally regarding the notion, of whether mathematics should not be taught since there is no usage of it or it should be a core subject which will benefit later in life. Nonetheless, in the following paragraphs, I would shed light on numerous reasons to discuss both views and then present my stance. To commence with the first idea, there are myriad things to be shared in its favour. First and foremost, the availability of contemporary software has replaced the usage of calculus. For example, MS Excel is one of the well-known and the most frequently used software nowadays which accommodates a vast range of formulae. Consequently, people can perform a variety of difficult calculations with more accurate and precise results without wasting their efforts and time. Moreover, computation is not the primary function of every field, the medical can be taken as an example. For illustration, if a person pursues his career as a doctor or pharmacist he does not need to be a master in numbers because in this field studying and researching new diseases are more significant than doing memorized calculations. Shifting towards the second school of thought, mathematics can have a plethora of advantages as well. Firstly, it succours in carrying out daily routine tasks. For instance, the day-to-day budgeting of households is done by utilizing simple numbers along with some arithmetic operations such as addition and subtraction. Hence, this enables folks to calculate their expenses and savings on a regular basis. Furthermore, maths enhances the ability to think. According to research conducted in the USA, 80 per cent of participants who were good at this subject are way sharper, more creative and innovative than the ordinary ones. The study also suggests that these people were able to broaden their minds, think of different perspectives and could manage to find a unique and quick solution to every problem without consuming too much time. In conclusion, after having discussed the arguments and the counter-arguments, I would like to infer my personal opinion that pupils should study mathematics as their foundation course because it aids humans in performing basic daily life calculations effectively and sharpens their minds.