Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, there is an increasing number of inhabitants who take alternative therapies when having suffered from health problems, instead of asking for advice from their casual doctor. I believe this would facilitate a negative effect. Trying alternative medicines and treatments can only relieve symptoms instantly but may not treat the causes of the disease completely which means these symptoms may come back later. Although patients probably feel comfortable and some of their symptoms such as pain, cough, and fatigue after a short time treating with alternative therapies, there is no reliable evidence proving that this would help patients get rid of the diseases. Some people with venous disorder which causes heavy leg, and pain tend to apply some supplements extracted from plants and feel painless after a month of use. However, when discontinuing the therapy, the symptoms return because the root of this problem which is the venous impairment has not been fixed yet. On the other hand, avoiding visiting doctors with intensive experience means limiting the chance to access effective and reliable solutions. In clinical practice, physicians give advice and indicate evidence-based medicines which are recommended by several international guidelines of prestigious associations. By taking alternative therapies instead of asking physicians, patients would lose their opportunity to the treatment that may cure their problem. See the example above, patients if visiting their doctors, would be instructed to take Daflon which is recommended by America Coronary Association as the first -line drug to treat the venous disorder. In conclusion, taking alternative medicines and treatment strategies without visiting doctors leads to some drawbacks. In my point of view, this can not help people cure the root of health problems and may limit the chance to be treated by effective methods.