Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

The essay seeks to examine the possible reasons behind weddings getting bigger and costlier these days. In my view, this is a negative development as excessive spending on such events creates undue pressure on everyone else in society to do the same, despite their financial background. These days weddings are getting more lavish because of higher discretionary spending ability of individuals. This is a result of the current economic boom which has led to increase in number of high paying jobs. High economic growth in the past decade has thereby fuelled an increase in purchasing power of the average person. There has also been a modest increase of women in the workforce, which has meant that both the bride and groom have more money available to spend on such events. Hence, one of the drivers of an increase in number of extravagant weddings is the broad increase in ability to spend by people on such events. In the age of social media, spending on weddings has become a display of one's status in society. While there were expensive weddings earlier, these days because of social media the demonstration effect of expensive weddings has multiplied. If someone's friend is extremely well off and has a very glitzy and lavish wedding, other people also try to increase spending on their weddings to maintain their status within their social circle. Thereby, social media has indirectly led to a feedback loop where people spend more on their weddings. In conclusion, the broad increase in societal wealth and increased penetration of social media has led to a feedback loop, where overall spending by couples these days has increased significantly. This is not good for society overall as such extravagant spending puts social pressure on people with weak financial backgrounds to do the same.