it is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own

Today, we can have access to news through different sources and platforms. People can read or watch news in the newspaper, online and social network. Reporters may have different perspectives from us, some prefer reading news which differ from their own opinions, while others consider it important to read views which are similar to theirs. From my point of view, it is significant to read news presented by people who have different views from ourselves. To begin with, reading news written by reporters who have different opinions can provide more objective information on the incident. People can have subjective thoughts when interprete interpret a social issue because of limited background knowledge and relevant information. For example, originally I think that genetically modified food is possibly harmful to health and I reject purchasing any crop produced by gentical genetical genetically modification. However, I read news written by a scientific writer on the same issue, which showed that some crop, for instance tomatoes, mazes, have been improved by the genetical modification techniques, and are beneficial to people ’s health. Therefore, without reading news reports which contain different views, people cannot get more objective information but stick to their own incorrect opinions. Second, reading news presented by people who have different viewpoints can offer more details and broaden our horizons. Sometimes, it is difficult to define the right or wrong for news. People cannot consider opinions different from theirs as incorrect. Moreover, news with different views can make people think from other aspects by providing more details. For instance, once I read news on the negative effect of losing weight. The news was counterintuitive and it indeed expanded my knowledge. I learnt that tight control of weight was also detrimental to health. Consequently, it is important to keep an open mind when reading or watching news, because people can get more detailed information when receiving news with different points of views. In conclusion, people can choose to watch or read news from a variety of platforms, and it is of vital importance to pay attention to news presented by people whose views are different. Reading news with different opinions can help provide more objective and detailed information and broaden people ’s horizons.