Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree?

In this day and age, some people believe that spending money on roads and highways is more essential than spending money on public transportation systems. While spending money on roads and highways has some benefits, I personally think that investing in public transportation systems is more advantageous. On the one hand, it is important for governments to spend their budget on roads and motorways. First, when the quality of roads and highways is terrible, people who drive on these roads can easily get into accidents because of potholes or narrow roads. As a result, when the quality of the roads is improved, there will be fewer accidents. Second, the number of traffic jams will decrease. When the roads are widened, more vehicles can travel on the roads without causing traffic jams. For instance, in Dalat, roads are widened in order to reduce the number of traffic jams. On the other hand, it is my firm belief that the merits of spending funds on public transport are more significant. To begin with, many problems about the environment will be solved. When using public transport instead of using individual vehicles, the amount of carbon emission will decline. As a consequence, this not only reduces air pollution but also minimizes the general effects of global warming. Additionally, taking public transportation is more convenient and inexpensive. Many people do not have enough money to buy private vehicles, so they can take public transportation to get to work or to school. To illustrate this point, students do not have money to buy a motorbike, so they can use public transport at a cheap price. In conclusion, although there are several benefits of spending money on roads and highways, I am firmly convinced that the government should invest in public transport.