In many countries it is now illegal to advertise alcohol. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that alcohol -promoting advertisements should be banned and some countries have already decided to consider such advertisements as illegal activities. This essay absolutely agrees with this decision, because those adverts impose the wrong perception of being cool for the younger generation and also hinder the process of giving up the alcohol addiction for those who are trying to quit it. It is a known fact that repetitive activities such as showing alcohol -related ads on the media can impose a wrong understanding of what is considered to be “cool” and “fancy”. Over popularizing all sorts of unhealthy beverages such as beer, wine and spirits can lead to young and fragile adolescent minds being influenced by the idea that alcohol is a trend, and is a part of modern society, and it is a cool thing to consume. Which can certainly lead to serious issues in the long run. For example, as per the latest survey results due to the alcohol commercials, consumption of these products increased by 20% in Europe which in my opinion is a very disconcerting and disturbing growth of wrong trends. Apart from, above-mentioned there is another very important issue that should be considered when it comes to alcohol promotion and that is the fact that it seriously makes it difficult for those who are trying to give up the bad habit of addictive boozing. Because as per my understanding it is always easier to avoid temptation rather than trying to resist it. And those adverts make it almost impossible to not think about it when it is constantly popping up everywhere in the media. For instance, there is research that was conducted in the alcohol addiction clinic at the University of California. This clearly proved that alcohol -addicted candidates that participated in this research were prone to go back to their previous habits if they were tempted by reminders of the alcohol during the day. In conclusion, it is certain that advertisements can impose wrong ideas on teenagers and younger minds as well as it can influence the adults who have alcohol -related issues in terms of giving up bad habits. Therefore, I agree and support the idea of making alcohol adverts illegal.