It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people believe that risky decisions are essential for success in careers as well as in personal lives. While there might be many difficulties and challenges that one has to face, I believe they are worthy to take thanks to the advantages. It is undeniably that taking risks might come with negative consequences. This result not only affects one themselves but also their families. For example, committing extreme sports can cause injury, which damages one’s health as well as their family’s welfare. Furthermore, people who choose to step out of their comfort zones usually face many challenges which cost them plenty of time and money. For example, if a person makes a career change, he/she might involve in a big pay cut and time-consuming in order to gain a stable position in the new company. On the other hand, there are many chances of success, which can be life-changing, for those who dare to challenge themselves. Firstly, new abilities can be discovered while facing difficulties. For instance, getting over the fear of public speaking makes one more confident and has the courage to express themselves. Secondly, risks also bring opportunities. For example, high-risk investments, mean that putting the money at a higher risk, however, may offer a chance of higher returns than other investments might produce such as bank savings and bonds. Hence, I think the benefits of taking risks far outweigh any potential disadvantages. In conclusion, although a risky move is not a must in order to be successful, I believe it is worth crossing the line to take chances and develop oneself.