Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outwiegh the disadvantages?

Nowadays multiple languages are used to communicate and trade. And this has urged schools around the globe to introduce different spoken dialects in their curriculum for children to learn. In this essay, we will discuss both positive and negative aspects of learning a different language and I will put forward my opinion. To begin with, children aged between 0 to 5 have sharp minds and if they are introduced to a new language they can easily understand and learn them. This is because they are looking at the world with a fresh set of eyes and a curious mindset that helps them to acquire abundant information and process it quickly. For example, Indian schools have included the Mandarin dialect in their pre-schooling phase as government speculate that in the near future the Chinese people will hold most of the market share and learning Mandarin in the initial stages can be useful for the Indian students to compete. As a result, this will help adults to be more competitive and secure job opportunities quickly. To continue further, there are various advantages of learning a new lingo but it also has some disadvantages. As they continue to learn a new dialect they might lose touch with their mother tongue, which can cause a barrier in communication and the initial bond between parents are children may diminish. Furthermore, they will face a tough time selecting what accent to speak in and convey their ideas as this can lead to serious long-term problems like depression. To illustrate, as per a recent survey done by Stanford University, 45% of people who speak more than two languages encountered an issue while writing grammatically right sentences in a single expression. Hence, it is important to maintain the right balance between multiple dialects to improvise the decision-making ability. Lastly, from what has been discussed above, the benefits of the given topic significantly outweigh the drawbacks. In my opinion, it would be wise to say that its the responsibility of schools to teach all the languages and also make students understand the importance and history of it.