Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime.Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is known by people that a high number of prison sentences is one of the best methods to minimise crime whereby other people think that there are other solutions to reduce crime. This essay agrees with the latter point and will explain the severity of crime should determine the prison sentence and provide solutions way of educating prisoners about wrongdoing and its consequences. Firstly, as said by a few people that longer prison sentences are a way to decrease crime rates as they will enhance the victim not to commit further crimes in future. For example, a person who commits severe sexual assault may become a threat to others in the community hence the person needs to be imprisoned for a longer duration. Additionally, one of the recommendations would create awareness within communities thus educating the young minds about the consequences of involving in such criminal activities. Furthermore, others believe that there are alternative ways to reduce crime by not punishing them harshly for a minor law breakers. For instance, people who do pickpockets, shoplift, and have drug addictions should not be jailed for a longer period of time. According to recent research in India mainly young youths are the ones who are involved in such activities. Moreover, such people are to be taken into rehabilitation centres whereby they are educated on the harmful effects of committing crimes which can result in long-term imprisonment. In conclusion, the major the crime the more severe punishment to be given while minor the crime less harsh sentences to apply, Finally, educating and rehabilitation prisoners is a key to reducing crime.