More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

A growing number of wild species are on the brink of extinction and many others are on the endangered list. This essay will suggest that the principal reason for this issue is habitat loss and submit a public awareness program as a viable solution, followed by a reasoned conclusion. The main reason for the wildlife crisis affecting a plethora of wild animals is the destruction of their natural habitats. Habitat influences biodiversity profoundly. Natural habitat is destroyed because of deforestation, environmental pollution, increased urbanization, and so on, which results in an adverse impact on the animal’s habitat, food cycle, atmosphere and reproduction process. A case in point is North America. Many natural habitats in this region that are significant for wildlife have been ruined since the period of European colonization. Hundreds of thousands of acres of grasslands are gone, 80 per cent of ancient forest in the Southeast has been cut down, and more than 50 per cent of wetlands are destroyed. Thus, the numerical growth of wildlife and their life cycle is disrupted causing the endangerment of wildlife. Some protective measures, however, should be taken to improve the situation. First of all, governments should wage an aggressive campaign nationwide on a range of environmental issues to raise awareness among the masses. People will know how environmental damages incurred by them can cause habitat loss and the catastrophic effects it brings about. In turn, they will understand the importance of wildlife habitats, and eventually, make an effort to avert environmental damage. Besides, governments ought to allocate more budgets to conserving endangered animals. In addition to this, governments should also legislate stringent laws to punish offenders severely. If these preventive actions are implemented properly, then the extinction caused by human activities can be avoided. To recapitulate, the principal cause of wildlife extinction is habitat loss by environmental pollution, deforestation, and so forth. However, in order to mitigate the issue, solutions such as an aggressive campaign, strict laws, and allotting more budgets to protecting wildlife, should be obtained.