At present time the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults compared with the number of old people. Do the advantages of this situation overweigh disadvantages?

It can be seen nowadays that certain countries have more adolescents in comparison to older individuals. From my perspective, although this trend has more pros than cons economy-wise older individuals are valuable to society due to their skills and wisdom. The notions will be examined in the essay. On one hand, the officials have to spend a lesser amount of money on the monthly allowance for retired people having a lesser number of elderly people while the younger and stronger generation works and pays taxes to the government making it richer. For example, a study has shown that 75% of taxes and fees come from employed individuals aged from 21 to 48. Therefore, the tendency of having a larger number of young people than pensioners is beneficial for economic growth and quality of life. On the other hand, the older generation is the cornerstone of society thanks to its knowledge and experience. For instance, new-melted professionals such as carpenters, plumbers and builders tend to take over knowledge and skills from their older seasoned co-workers because mastering these skills demands a mentor and it is difficult to acquire them through online courses. That is why it is a matter of high importance to have and value older people who have been sharpening their skills for many years and can convey them to younger generations. In conclusion, even though youth plays a crucial role in economic prosperity, it is still essential to have and respect the older generation that contributes to adolescents thanks to its knowledge, skills and wisdom.