In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Urban designers are increasingly planning to change the traditional form of many cities. In my point of view, the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the benefits and I will discuss my opinion in this essay. There are various reasons why re-creating urban areas is far more disadvantageous. To begin with, long distances between the workplace and home would cause heavy traffic congestions which may lead to air and noise pollution. For example, in Tehran, many commuters or students who live in suburbs away from the city centre which includes offices and schools should spend hours on the roads in their cars or taxis during rush hours. this would therefore lead to more dependence on travelling by vehicles and motorcycles. In addition, most parents prefer to be close to their children's schools as they might get injured during sports classes or perhaps become sick. In the same way, hospitals should not be too far away from schools, offices, and residential areas in case of an emergency. Moreover, attracting customers to shopping malls that are away from the living environment can be unmanageable for store owners. For instance, most Iranian dwellers choose to buy their necessities from local shops rather than from large centres which makes them spend a lot of time on the way to reach them. In conclusion, while some planners tend to distinguish apartment buildings, educational institutions, stores, and working places to reconstruct many cities, I believe that the potential negative consequences of this new planning method are undeniable.