Some people think a country benefits from a large proportion of young university students, others think sending young people to universities only leads to graduate unemployment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, many argue that students learning in universities would bring many merits to their country, whereas others believe such conduct may cause graduates to be unemployed. From my perspective, I am in complete agreement with the view that sending youngsters to these academies would do good to the country. Many people contend that youths should not enter universities since the knowledge and skills obtained from these academic institutions are not as practical as needed in today’s occupation market. At universities, learners are taught loads of knowledge required in a particular field theoretically, however, in reality, the situations may dramatically change and without flexible adaptations, people may not be able to cope with such strict workloads and therefore, this problem would lead to unemployment among those with graduation certificates. On the other hand, I side with the perspective which supposes that young people should go to universities for the sake of the nation because of 2 fundamental reasons. The first one is that although the skills accumulated in these schools may sometimes be difficult to apply in real-life circumstances, they are originally designed by our education system to tackle problems and challenges in a field, which thus, proves their reliability as well as usefulness in our careers. This would create a skilled workforce for the economy to develop technology, manufacturing processes and many other aspects. Furthermore, during the studying process, not only do those projects, assignments and extracurricular activities provide us with a deeper insight into our professions, but they also boost our soft skills such as communication or problem-solving abilities and allow us to face issues more confidently. For instance, my friend John, majoring in Computer Science at Australian International University, has been a great student with his grade at the top of his class, and with his English which has been improved through the learning process, he was offered a full-time job at Google, one of the most prestigious technology company in the world. In conclusion, even though the opponents of universities may argue that such conduct put the country at risk of being out of a qualified workforce, I strongly believe that it is extremely necessary in contemporary society.