Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The competition encourages people to try new things and go beyond their duties. Many children have a competitive spirit from a young age which enables them to come out with flying colours and excel in the tasks allocated to them. On one hand, some people may argue that a sense of competition should be encouraged. On the other hand, others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become useful adults. In this essay, I would discuss and analyze both points of view and draw a reasonable conclusion from them. Firstly, according to the Latin catchphrase 'Tabula rasa', learning is innate and it cannot be taught by worldly experiences. Moreover, offspring are born with certain characteristics and intelligence that they develop as they mature. For example, healthy competition with their peers would bring out the best in them and would also increase their creativity in accomplishing various new tasks. To give a clear example, consider the children taking part in an athletic sprinting event. They learn about the pace that they have to keep to outrun their peers. Nevertheless, they learn about the harsh realities of winning and losing. At the end of the day, they learn to accept victory or failures with a smile and would also congratulate their friends who would stand on the podium. Conversely, competition also has many negative aspects among offspring which need to be considered. The sport would only lead to a comparison of things in every stratum and the ones participating may go to any lengths to achieve their goal. This could result in immoral practices and deceptive techniques to trick their opponents. However, on the other hand, young ones who are taught to co-operate tend to have much more of a team spirit and would be emotionally intelligent to achieve their tasks. For instance, although they may play second fiddle and lack leadership traits, the ones who merge would be more accepted as useful adults in society. In conclusion, after carefully analyzing the need for rivalry in children, although it needs to be encouraged, children who compromise and learn to share among their peers tend to develop and learn the skills required in various walks of life. Finally, the competitors would have great pride in their abilities and would be over-confident in comparison to those who collaborate.