Many offenders commit more crime after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening? What measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Introduction: It is observed that most of the criminals engage in unlawful activity inspite of completing their first disciplinary term. In this essay I will be discussing some of the major causes and their solutions to confront them. Firstly, criminals are a part of the society and are usually isolated because of their involvement in crime related activity. As a result they mostly feel depressed and frustrated. For example, a research conducted in Tihar jail in 2019 concluded that after their release from jail the offenders are disregarded by their own family members, this leads to anger, resulting in re-involvement in illegal act. In addition, its nearly impossible for the criminals to find a job once they are released from prison. This, also is another major factor that allows poverty to strike them and thus they get involved in crimes related to drugs and theft which helps them to earn a living. However, all of these issues can be solved aptly. Involving the society, especially the families of criminals in creating awareness on accepting them as normal human beings can help subside the rate of re-crime to an extent. Furthermore, teaching essential employment skills to all the jail inmates can help the violators to establish a small scale startup that will allow them to make a living, thus reducing re-involvement. To clarify, job skills like tailoring, carpentery, painting, welding if taught to the prisoners can be used later on by them to earn sufficient money to improve standard of living. Conclusion: To summarise, it is important to help the criminals who have served their punishment to re-establish their self worth by social acceptance and skill improvement. This will prevent them from violating law repeatedly.