There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes commited each year. While some think that the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides.

In the status quo, the rates of extraordinary crimes have increased annually. Not a few criminologists argue that capital punishment is more significant to reduce the number of serious crimes, however, numerous experts also opine that there should be other effective alternatives to resolve the issue. This essay will elucidate both perspectives. To begin with, the death penalty has been implemented in many countries such as Saudi Arabia and Indonesia and is highly considered justified for two reasons. Firstly, it is the only retribution for dangerous criminals, including but not limited to murders, terrorists, and serial killers. Some judges believe in the narrative of an eye for an eye due to providing respect, security, and rehabilitation for the victim's family. Additionally, when a doer is sentenced to death, her or his punishment would trigger fears among societies, so people would be hesitant to commit another crime. Therefore, the deterrent effect is believed to occur and prolong by taking someone's life. In contrast, considerable courts are against the motion and support the idea of life in prison, fine, and community services instead. Capital punishment is not necessarily efficient nor appropriate for all circumstances since not all individuals are terrified of dying. Some people value freedom and family over their own souls. For example, corruptors are willing to die as long as they have achieved unlimited funding and affluent assets for their grandchildren. This phenomenon indicates that other remedies must be taken into account for different cases. In conclusion, the death sentence has been an unending debate globally. Several nations are into it because of better retribution and deterrent effect. Nevertheless, many other states disagree with it as life in prison, fine, and community services are most likely suitable for various illegal conducts.