In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is gradually becoming a norm for certain countries to adopt a vegetarian diet. I hold the view that it has several benefits to having a vegetarian diet, however, many people disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and give reasons for my opinions. Firstly, it is probably true to say that most vegetables are nutrient-dense food which contains a lot of great compounds that our body needs such as Vitamin-C and zinc. People these days are giving more attention to achieving a healthy lifestyle. For example, working adults like office worker, who tends to have limited leisure time per day, instead of intaking scrumptious junk food, most people are likely to go to the gym. Not only eating healthy is important to our health but also exercise is one of the core elements to achieving a quality life. However, there are some arguments that following a vegetarian diet would not bring any significant impact on our well-being. Indeed, it is more likely to cause health diseases such as malnutrition and obesity. The majority of the vegetarian diet is made from starch and flour which may be a luxury to our body needs. For example, fish is replaced by a flour-made product. Having too many carbohydrate products may cause a slowdown in metabolism. In conclusion, although there is some reasonable argument against the impact of following herbivores' diet, there is no doubt that the potential benefits of eating as a vegetarian far outweigh than disadvantages. In this case, I strongly agree with this statement and the government should organise more events to promote these campaigns that would help in increasing the community's health.