Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

There are many different view on spending most of the time at work, giving little time off work. In my opinion been workholics carries more negative implications than positives. At a personal level the drawbacks of long hours of work have effects on both, physical and mental wellbeign. Sparing only small time for enjoyable activities and hobbies would have a bearing on the stress on the long run. There are many research showing a clear link between work related stress and mental health issues. When the mind become unhealthy, naturaly naturally body would be vulnarable to falling easily sick. Furthermore, these workers would be less productive. In addition the affects go beyond the individual level, and to affect the society adversly. Lack of free time from work means there would be less time for social gathering, less family time. For instance, the Japanese government realising the social problems that are created due to this over work culture are implementing strict rules and made mandatory blackout in the office building to force the workers to go home. Such drastic measures are taken to protect a healthy society. Eventhough employees would be overwhelmed to have workers who work overtime without any complaint, on the long run it has more dangerous bearings. In conclusion, the increased hours spent at work ignoring time to rest has created many personnel and social issues.