Some people believe that successful sports teams are always those with the strongest or fittest players. Others think that success depends more on the team’s mental strength. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the salad days of the millennium, society is polarised into two groups almost equally regarding the notion that successful sports personalities are always those who have the stronger body or are the ones with powerful minds. The following paragraphs will shed light on both the approaches, as far as I am concerned I am in favour of the latter statement. To commence with, there are myriad things to be shared in its favour, firstly players need to attain physical strength before playing any game. In other words, sports require a lot of stamina, and physical endurance for playing long hours, and this is the significant reason that players build their bodies and gain muscles to compete in a sport. To cite an epitome, cricket players start their physical training in the early years because they tend to increase their endurance to play a match. Thus, it can be argued without the scepticism that sports members need to be healthy and fit. Shifting towards the second school of thought, psychological attributes play a vital role in balancing the mental stability of a sportsperson. To answer it, victory cannot be achieved if the mind is not controlled, it is very essential for a player to learn the power of focus and attention which can help to achieve desired results. For example, a famous footballer Ronaldo in his latest interview highlighted the importance of mindset, and shared his experience of gaining the skills of mastering his mind during the tournaments. As a result, it is rightly said if you can conquer your mind, you can win the world. In conclusion, even though fitness is a dominant factor for a player, however, I would like to infer that mental stability is equally required to balance the scale for the player.