These days, many university courses are offered through the internet . Some people think that online teaching has more advantages than conventional classroom teaching or lectures, while othersclaim that there are significant disadvantages.

Currently, numerous tertiary courses are being offered electronically. Some people are of the view that online tutorial has vast merits than traditional classroom teaching, on the other hand, others generally think that there are paramount disadvantages, in my opinion, I concur to the claim that online classes do more harm than good because practical aspects of the courses are lost and it is expensive as well, as will be discussed in this essay. Undoubtedly, there is a benefit in online teaching, that is, it is convenient. People find it convenient to participate in online teaching without having to move an inch from their home. This is to say, anyone can sit in the comfort of his or her house and be taught. For instance, a friend of mine attended a webinar while he was on still in bed, having not groomed for the day. However, there are significant number of disadvantages that one could think of, including plummet practicals. Some courses such as physics and other science related courses are more of practice than theory in order for the student to comprehend fully. If these courses are offered online, how could the practical aspects be achieved. Unless conventional classes are organised for these students. Some students also are able to grasp the concept of the course well through the actions and gestures the teacher makes while teaching, this I think, will not be gained in online tutorial. In addition, it is expensive. One needs access to an electronic device such as a laptop or a mobile phone and an internet source of which could be expensive to buy every time there is a session. Again poor network can render the teaching ineffective. To conclude, despite the fact that online class has its own advantage, I think that its demerits outweigh the merit, such that hands-on training is lacked or deficient and bad internet source can decrease the overall objectives of the course.