Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstance of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Economical as well as environmental pressure on a human being adds fuel to develop a criminal mentality. Some people believe that there should be a fixed trial for crimes, whereas many citizens are in favour of punishing the criminal based on the circumstances and by gauging their individuality of it and I agree with this. To begin with, every criminal offence has its own reasons and knowing the intention behind it is important. This is because there can't be any standard punishment as this will prove offenders to commit an offence as they already know the end result of it. For example, for criminal activities like rape and acid attacks, if the culprit is found and identified then it is better to announce the punishment instead of further delaying the process. As a result, people will think twice before committing such mistakes and be aware of the circumstances. Hence, this will not only improve the judiciary system but also provide justice to innocents. To continue further, there should be some set punishments which every government need to identify based on criminal activities. To exemplify, petty crimes like traffic offences and verbal violence should only have a minimum monetary fine to create awareness and stop it at the grassroots level. Furthermore, it is important for institutions to consult offenders to know what provokes them to do such activities and help them to them overcome. So, governments worldwide have started rehabilitation clinics to address this issue. Lastly, in my opinion, it would be wise to say that every offender should know the end result of their criminal activities but the punishment should be based on the severity and criticality of the offence.