In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aguing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In developed countries, at least, life expectancy is gradually increasing. Some believe this growth led to problems for many governments, while others think it’s beneficial to society to have a more elderly generation. In my opinion, the disadvantages of having an ageing population outweigh the advantages. A healthier diet and improved living conditions, together with advances in medical treatment and diagnoses, have meant that most people are having longer life expectancies. This can be a cause for government issues. Many older communities require a good deal of care, either help with personal care or nursing. For instance, governments are finding it increasingly difficult to find the money for this, and the elderly population often do not have the money to pay for it themselves. Therefore, it can be a lack of caring for elderly society members by the administration. Nevertheless, the combination of a falling birth rate and an increase in life expectancy is likely to cause problems for the states. It’s the young and middle-aged who work and pay the most taxes. In other words, it is they, who keep the country going, for it is the revenue from taxes that pays for public services and state benefits. For example, there are too few people working to provide the necessary funds to pay for a state benefit system which looks after those who are, for one reason or another, unable to work. To summarise what has been stated so far, long-term living in most developed countries can lead to some problems for governments. Two main reasons why it could be difficult for the government are that elderly populations need more care and medical treatment, together with healthier living conditions, and the second reason is that they don’t pay for public services, which results in the country's economy.