Some people say that advertisement encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Other say that advertisement tells us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoints do you agvreee with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Manufacturers from all over the world use advertise their products and services through different print, television, and online media with the intention to introduce those to common consumers. One group of users preach the idea that product publicity provokes us to purchase unnecessary things whereas another group is afraid that without this commencement about the commodities we will never know what amenities are available to ameliorate our quality of life. I will be discussing both sides of the coin in the next sections. Most of the time as users we are not aware of what we need to lead a comfortable life until someone shows us that by pointing the finger. We often stay within the boundary of our basic needs and drag on a life of toil and hardship. However, if someone exhibits the fact that certain tools are available to make our daily chores easier, there is always some probability that we will try our best to purchase those commodities. For example, people used to wash their clothes with soap and water for years until some researchers discovered detergent powder and some businessmen brought that to the mass market through proper publicity and branding. On the other hand, it is also not fully deniable that often we overspend after being allured by different smart marketing tricks. For instance, corporations put a trap of discount or cross-selling strategies to stretch our spending nature. Sometimes this can become a burden for low or middle-income families. However, this type of behaviour can be checked through strict financial planning or budgeting before buying anything. In conclusion, we can say that without proper promotional activities it will not be possible for industrialists to make people acquainted with their goods. So I support that media publicity is a necessary ingredient of our modern consumer lives. Enforcing a limit on expenditure can deter the bad impacts of advertisements on the purchase habits of common people.