It is better to have one true friend than all the acquaintances in the world. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is said that having a strong bond with someone is more beneficial than having a wide social network. While being people-oriented leads to endless opportunities, I believe that nothing can be replaced with a lifelong friendship. Firstly, close friends speak their language which means they have a lot in common. Thus, not only do they understand each other very well, but also they get along well. Secondly, generally in a lasting relationship people speak their heart out without any concern as they have the utmost confidence in themselves. Finally, due to the fact that a close friend usually is a reliable person and he or she does not judge you by your mistakes, hence you can count on him or his whenever you face any issue. On the other hand, in the modern era forging new friendships is a crucial skill to achieve countless work prospects. For example, as a person who is seeking a job if you have a large circle of friends who are involved in your field, you will probably have more chances to get valuable information about the labour market situation. In addition, interacting with different individuals results in better communication skills which are essential to promote your achievement and personality in a job interview. However, maintaining relationships with different people who have different behaviours and cultures is extremely harder than keeping a friendship with a close friend. In conclusion, although there are numerous benefits in socialization and keeping in touch with different people, in my opinion having a close friend has more upsides due to the fact that it is easier to maintain and also you can share a warm relationship with each other.